A Simple Guide to Web Development | A Reflection Through my Life Experience

Photo by Farzad on Unsplash

A Simple Guide to Web Development | A Reflection Through my Life Experience

Hiya folks, Itz Rar here. I am 22 year old business school student and a self-taught CS student ;) . I have my obsession with Computer since I was just 3 year old and my first computer was a Pentium III. Why I am doing a major in business, is another interesting topic that I am leaving for another day! I will share my bizarre CS experience with you, in a hope that it will help anyone out there changing career to web development as a self-learner. Being self-taught myself, I had my downfalls, but no regrets! I will be sharing them with you , so you won't do the same mistakes I did. Without wasting any time lets Go!

The Approach I Recommend

When it comes to programming, it's like the dry high school math, which is no fun unless you find its applications. Going through dry courses, can be one of the reason you might end up quitting. If you are just starting out, the Scrimba course on HTML and CSS + JavaScript are the best free courses out there. Why?

  • They have this innovative way of teaching by building method, which makes the learning a lot more fun.
  • They have this interactive web-based development environment, where you don't need to leave your browser. You can just pause the video and start editing the code right away.
  • They have a really friendly community on discord, full of useful content like interviews preparation, success stories and a lot more to learn from.

NOTE: I suggest sticking to Scrimba unless you complete your tutorials on Learn HTML and CSS(which is around 5 hour long), and Learn JavaScript for free. Don't end up getting sucked inside the black hole of tutorial hell. That's the reason I won't recommend anything else, this way, you would spend more time learning these technologies, not in struggling between the dilemma of which tutorial is the best(Because there are gazillions).

tutorialhellmeme.jpg

My Daily Routine

I wake up around 4:45 am, then I give some time to meditation, take my breakfast, revise my to-do list for the day and leave for ..... wait did I tell you I am also working part time at a studio as a content writer? Anyways I leave for work around 8 am on public transport? hmmmm nope. I have an old friend from high school, he works there as well, he picks me up and we both go together, having our fun little chat on his Motor Bike. I get done with the studio work as soon as possible and then spend the rest of the day enhancing my web development career. Remember consistency, consistency and consistency matters a lot! If you are doing other stuffs like I do, find a time to practice tutorial even if it's for 15 mins, just stay consistent and you will thank me for the rest of your life. Trust me sometimes, it's hard to balance but with time you get the hang of it! (good part our founder is really friendly, she let us work on our personal stuff, after we are done with the studio work).

We then share our homemade lunch(huge fan of homemade stuff, also helps me save a lot) around 1 pm. By the way, here's a picture of the beautiful scene from my window, it really helps me a lot with optimism(there are always two butterflies mingling out there). If possible try to get a calm place for yourself, it doesn't have to be fancy. Just a place where you can focus without getting distracted.

conttent.jpeg At 4:30 pm we leave for home. After taking a nice shower, I go through some important tech related news. I have my Facebook, Twitter and Quora optimized for quality content to consume everyday. Don't worry, I am not a nerd, I also have my fun time, but the ratio is 60% work related content(including educational memes) and 40% general stuff.

After that I spend some time on developer communities online. For a self-learner, a community of passionate people helps a lot at staying on track. Finally, I end my day by rewarding myself. By reading some comics on Webtoonz or by watching some anime. Afterwards I call it a day at 9:30 pm (Mama's boy T-T).

That's all, I am really happy with the pace I am progressing at. I hope this reflection would help you find your track. It's really important for you to find that sweet spot that makes learning fun not a living hell. Remember, enjoying while learning is more important!