Fixing Your Typing Habit Before You Start Your Programming  Journey | It Took Me Less Than a Week Myself

Fixing Your Typing Habit Before You Start Your Programming Journey | It Took Me Less Than a Week Myself

Many among us never got a chance to learn proper keyboard typing aka utilizing all your fingers on the keyboard, to achieve more speed and accuracy. Whether you want to be a programmer or a writer(I assume you'd be writing content in the future) speed and accuracy saves you a lot of time, and helps your hands to go in sync with your brain. Ever felt your typing speed struggling to catch up with your brain thinking power? Then now is the time to fix this!

I myself never had a chance to do it myself, but was there really a need for it? YES ,with time my typing became worst and I couldn't even properly type without looking at the keyboard or without making infinite typos. While following coding tutorial I used to feel like a turtle, I took a step back and decided to improve my touch typing(typing without looking at the keys).

No matter how old you are, it doesn't matter. It's never too late, I started it when I was almost about to turn 22. It took me a week to get it all set and to be honest I enjoyed it a lot. I had used typing.com and I'd highly recommend it to you. This website alone would be enough for you to achieve results in a really fast, friendly and interactive way.

Some Important Notes to Consider

  • Remember you'd be replacing your previous typing habit with new one, so after learning the lesson try to implement it, it'll be hard at first but trust me you'll see great results in a week. Also try to avoid using your old habit, if you need to search anything use your mobile.
  • It's okay to revise some keys lesson again.
  • Focus on accuracy not speed when you first start.
  • Stay consistent, even if you're doing it for 15 minutes a day you'll see tremendous amount of result after a week.

Short Keys Are Your Best Friend

Here are some common short keys that will help you navigate through different stuff a lot easier and a lot more faster:

  • ctrl + c = copy
  • ctrl + x = cut
  • ctrl + v = paste
  • alt + tab = switch between different apps
  • ctrl + backspace = delete a whole word
  • ctrl + a = select all the text
  • ctrl + tab = to move to the right tab in your browser
  • ctrl + shift + tab = to move to the left tab in your browser
  • ctrl + f = search for specific words in any document
  • ctrl + t = to open new tab in your browser
  • ctrl + w = close down whatever you’re viewing
  • ctrl + z = roll back your last action

Don't try to memorize them, just start using them and you'll learn them in no time!

Trust me this will be you after some consistent training.

cattyping.gif