Things That Can Make You Quit Programming | Things Not to Ask When You Are New to Programming

Photo by Evan Dennis on Unsplash

Things That Can Make You Quit Programming | Things Not to Ask When You Are New to Programming

When you are just starting out with programming. it becomes tempting to ask questions like which programming language is good and easier for beginners. While these simple question might seems enlightening, but they can even render you out from your path.

My Only Regret

My life was pretty straight forward at first. I tried to learn programming on my own and started with python, but for some reasons it didn't work for me. I was more of a practical person. After that I bought a book on web development the old school style(HTML,CSS, JavaScript, PHP and SQL). It started to make sense, what ever concept I was learning was implemented afterwards. Within a week, I could just duplicate any website with ease using HTML and CSS. Now was the time to learn JavaScript. On the same day my cousin came to meet me, when he saw me doing basic tutorial on JavaScript. He laughed and said these things have been obsoleted long ago(and trust me that time people used to make fun of you, if you knew JavaScript). I left it thinking maybe he's right, because he was working in a software house.

Afterwards I kept looking for answers, I can't even tell you the amount of time I wasted on stupid discussions. Threads on quora/reddit like: how learning python as a first language is stupid. if I want to become a pro, I should start with C++. Then few people suggested Java, if I want the real deal or wait maybe I should start with functional programming language. All these discussions had made me quit programming for a while, but I kept coming back. This time I didn't listen to anyone, took a basic foundational tutorial on C then back to web development, it worked greatly for me and after that other programing languages started to make more sense.

My tip

  • Now you don't have to start with the same approach, but I have seen if you can't see application soon enough, you are tend to quit soon out of boredom. With python or javascript, you can see applications soon enough. Remember what's important is consistency!
  • Start with what works for you. It is okay to try 2-4 languages before you can decide which one to go with. Once you have made that decision, don't look back!
  • When ever people call the language, you're learning crap. Just remember this:

    "There are only two kinds of languages: the ones people complain about and the ones nobody uses." -Bjarne Stroustrup

  • Chose a project that you want to build and learn the programming language suitable for it. You will learn faster this way.

Avoid Getting into These Questions

I will still leave a sarcastic remark

  • Can I use this programing language for everything?

You can't use hammer for everything, can you?

  • How many days will it take me to learn this certain language?

Trust me no one knows it better than you trying it first

  • Can I hack NASA with HTML?

Sure, hit me with the question again once you have actually learnt HTML

  • This programming language vs that?

Too early to get into programming religion

  • What's the future of this language?

All your knowledge of the previous programming language will easily transfer to other languages. After learning your first language, learning others would be a lot easier

Questions that will help you understand the concepts within the domain of programming should be asked more often. Once you have a solid base in your desired programming language, then you can start exploring more and you will get a better understanding, where to go next.

Remember, Programming Languages are just tools, each made for different purpose.